Runners taking part in the 10k race

Big Money Bonuses to Attract Top Runners to Balmoral - 10 January 2011

Substantial cash bonuses are being offered for record-breaking performances in the Stena Drilling Tartan 10Km and the Conocophillips 5Km at the 2011 Balmoral road races.

Organisers will pay out £250 to the winning man and woman in the 10Km but will double that to £500 should they crack the current best times for the scenic course.

The standard to beat in the men’s competition is the 31min 23sec clocked by Central AC’s Robert Russell in 2007.
Caithness runner Andrew Douglas came close last year when he won in 32:01 but he has improved since then and could be a strong contender to pocket the healthy bonus.

Aberdonian Lyn Wilson holds the women’s record of 36:23 which she set in 2006. The Edinburgh-based athlete, who has three Balmoral wins under her belt, is more than capable to taking the record to a new level.

Ian Reid (Cambuslang Harriers) holds the men’s 5Km best of 16:20 set two years ago but title-holder and two-times winner Myles Edwards of Aberdeen AAC is keen to challenge for the bonus on offer if he can run faster.

There will be £150 for the winner, doubled to £300 for a record.

Edwards’s clubmate Pamela Tosh set the women’s best of 18:16 last year and she’ll be keen to have a crack at improving her time.

Event Manager Alastair Simpson said:”We hope that these generous bonus prizes will attract many of Scotland’s top distance runners to the Balmoral road races.”

”We have had some great runners here over the years and with these incentives in place I’m sure we’ll see many more travelling to deeside in 2011.”

Applications are already flooding in for the races which take place on Saturday 23rd April.

Entries will close once the capacity for each event has been reached. There are 2,500 places available in the Stena Drilling Tartan 10Km, 1,000 in the ConocoPhillips 5Km, 400 in the activeschools Aberdeenshire 2.5Km and 750 in the MPH primary schools 1.5Km

More Archive News Items

Enter Now